meaningful mo-ments

Hello, chickadees.  

How is it possible it’s August already?

My annual family reunion at Mo Ranch was delightful, as ever.  Here are a few favorite snapshots… (Apologies that my laptop decided to only upload in teeny tiny format. Think of it like tapas: small bites, more to enjoy!)

IMG_7081 IMG_7191IMG_7170

Um, we drink coffee.  Like Olympic quantities.  I come by it genetically, see?

IMG_7085IMG_7083IMG_7084 IMG_7068 IMG_7082   

There was running and walking in floppy hats and Chacos (who were, by the way, quite pleased to be at Mo Ranch ten years on…best sandals ever).

IMG_7187IMG_7188IMG_7185IMG_7186

IMG_7118 IMG_7121

There was a piñata (thanks to Aunt Karen).  So much fun.

IMG_7123 IMG_7127IMG_7133 

There were well-posed for pictures (including the latter where my nieces shouted “MO RAAAAANCH!” at the top of their lungs.

IMG_7098IMG_7136

There were particularly holy moments, like when Gigi put her blanket on her head and proudly proclaimed, “I’m MARY!” and a relaxing time in the chapel (with the other Mary).

IMG_7137IMG_7146

There was the dog run, where we did not in fact run dogs, but actually sat in rocking chairs sipping beverages and catching up on life.

IMG_7140

(This included our version of communion: my grandmother’s amazingly buttery pound cake and red vino.)  

IMG_7189  IMG_7184

The kiddos had s’more communion of their own…

IMG_7151  IMG_7154 IMG_7159IMG_7155

As is tradition, my dad and I got up bright and early Sunday morning to watch the sunrise from the Chapel on the Hill.  I’ve been doing just that on my last morning at Mo since I was in junior high coming for midwinter conferences (it was a tad colder in January).

IMG_7158  IMG_7161 IMG_7162 IMG_7163

There were lovely Texas wildflowers and long soaks in the Guadalupe River (including a particularly spectacular starry evening gathering).

IMG_7165

MO_2014a

All in all, it was a fabulous Mo, though we really missed my cousin Lee and her husband Luis (who just had a new addition!).

When I got home there was something new in store for me.  Some church members had a little angel named Fifi who they decided might benefit from being an only child.  I met her, and it was love at first sight.  She’s the sweetest 5-year-old maltese and I’m just delighted.  

IMG_7313IMG_7282  IMG_7338

Such a charmer.  I’m a lucky gal, indeed.

It was so good to see family, and it’s nice to be home, too.  I had to have a little skin cancer taken care of today (wear sunscreen and hats, kids!) and continue to be amazed by the support and love of this wonderful community (in the form of company, peaches, tomatoes and a freshly-mown lawn).  So, here’s to August, my friends.  I hope it’s a good one.      

One thought on “meaningful mo-ments

Leave a Reply

