2 years among the pines

Image

A picture taken on my first morning here.

Two years ago, I got in my Nana’s old car surrounded by boxes, with my fluffy dog in his bed in the passenger seat and drove from Texas to North Carolina, to make a home in a place I barely knew.  We immediately hit it off, me and Carolina.  I’m feeling reminiscent today and looked back at my old blog post from arriving here.  I woke up for the first time in this place on a day much like today, grey and drippy, and beautiful in its own way.  Here’s what I wrote then.

“Heaven is glimpsing early morning fog through sleek pine trees.  The old saying goes that you miss the forest for the trees but with the flurry of excitement the last few days, I missed both the forest and the trees until this morning when I paused, looked up and said, “Wow.”  I love this place.  I love the charming post office, the lit-up Christmas wreath adorning the telephone pole outside of my house, the way people wave at you as they drive by, the astounding kindness of folks in making me feel welcome.  Joe from church stopped by and we got to talking about old books and small towns and he explained the gift of Cameron really well, saying that as you drove from larger towns (which are very close by) into Cameron, you just felt yourself physically relax, breathe deeper and all the tension leave your body.  People have a different way of living in small towns (it’s a village here, really) and it’s just delightful.  I can be at Starbucks in fifteen minutes sipping gingerbread lattes, but I can also hear a cricket lullaby at night and a songbird wake-up call in the morning.  Life is good.  There’s so much more grace to be discovered here, but for now, I’m going to sleep in a new state, new house, new call, feeling very much like this is exactly where I’m meant to be.  And with that, I can sleep easy, listening to the crickets as I drift off.”

I still feel like this is exactly where I’m meant to be, and am grateful to wake up amongst the pine trees that have become home to me.

Leave a Reply

