second helpings

Very often, my days off are spent doing such thrilling activities as:

1. Catching up on my t.v. shows (okay, only Project Runway, really).

2. Doing laundry.

3. Baking cookies.

4. Thinking about cleaning and then taking a nap.

That being said, I made the most of my days off this week!  I spent Friday evening exploring the 8th wonder of the world (potential exaggeration, there) called Southern Season with my friend Barbara.  Such culinary variety was to be found — I even discovered hickory smoked salt.  We couldn’t resist staying for supper and I had the most delectable duck confit flatbread with sage pesto, smoked cheese and arugula.  Dessert was inevitable, and delicious as well: peach fritters with ice cream and salted caramel.  Somehow, the fact that they brought me FIVE fritters in their own little frying basket was the stuff of hilarity for us.  What can I say, we were in a foodie-induced hysteria.  Such delightful company and fare.

Today brought more culinary adventures: my friend Gina and I jaunted off to Raleigh so she could introduce me to her favorite Indian restaurant.  Let’s just say, we got along swimmingly.  The food was authentic and fragrant, and the atmosphere amusing with pictures (that looked ever so slightly photoshopped) to show the owner with everyone from Dan Quayle (?!) to Al Gore to Michael Jordan.  I am baffled that he did not ask to take a picture with either of us!

Tonight’s supper: a bowl of honey bunches of oats.  It’s back to normal, folks.

One thought on “second helpings

Leave a Reply

